Motivational / Non-Fiction / Story with a Hadith quote / Under 250 words

Du’a for my ummah

desertAisha (radi Allahu anha*) narrated a beautiful moment from the life of the Messenger (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam**).

.

She tells us, “Once, while the Prophet (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam**) was in a noticeably pleasant mood, I asked him: “Messenger of Allah! Supplicate to Allah for me!”

.

du'aSo he said: “O Allah! Forgive Aisha’s past sins and her future sins, forgive those committed secretly and those committed publicly.”

.

So continues by saying, “I began smiling so much that my head fell into the lap of the Messenger of Allah (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam**) out of joy! The Messenger of Allah said to me: “Does my dua make you happy?”

.

I replied: “How can your dua not make me happy?!” He then said: “I swear by Allah, it is the supplication I make for my Ummah*** in every prayer.”

.

 ummahThis is why the Companions said the Prophet (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam) was like a father. We, the Ummah***, were his family.

.
.
.
(Reproduced from Qalam Institute post on its Facebook page: ……, on May 24th 2013 )
.
.
.
Image Credits (Note: all images used are for decorative purposes only): www.suhaibwebb.com – schools.nyc.gov – www.desertroseracing.com –
.
.
.
Brief Translations:
* Radiallahu anha = May Allah be pleased with her
** Sal lalaahu alayhi wa sallam = May peace and blessings of Allah be upon him
*** Ummah = community of Muslims
2 thoughts on “Du’a for my ummah

Leave a Reply

